What are you doing to learn Darija?

Hello, I’m beginning to learn Moroccan Darija. Does anyone have a method or use a program or app that works for them? I really need something very structured with audio to learn especially because I have limited time. But I want to learn a little every day. How is everyone doing learning? Good luck! :smiley:

1 Like

Hi there, Just curious if you’ve had some success in your journey? I have taken a couple different private tutors and made some friends that use Whatsapp to text and send audio. I started off with Tachelhit… but after a couple months… and some stagnation- Moved to Darija… I feel it’s a bit more ‘hands on’ so to speak… especially with help offered.
Hoping you are having good luck.

Hi there.

I’ve been learning Darija for about two years now. I’ve done a few different things along the way, but here are the things I found the most useful:

1. Learn the Arabic Script

Teach yourself to read, write and pronounce the Arabic letters. Often, Moroccan is written with Latin characters. However, I cannot tell you how much it helped me to actually learn to read and pronounce the Arabic letters! It gave me a much better understanding of how the words are built, and, in turn, unlocked a much larger vocabulary, since the so-called root consonants are much easier to identify using the Arabic letters.

You can use the first several levels of the Duolingo Standard Arabic course in order to learn how to read and pronounce the Arabic letters.

1. Study the Grammar:

Moroccan grammar is vastly different from any European language I know of. In order to construct sentences more easily, it really helped me to understand how Moroccans build sentences from the bottom up. Therefore, I suggest you actually study some grammar as opposed to only learning phrases by heart. For example: “I am twenty-nine years old” in Moroccan is actually “with-me: nine and twenty year” (3endi ts3ud w 3chrin 3am).