Salaam min Hoolanda

Assalamu alaykum,

I am a new member from The Netherlands. I am originally turkish so I also speak its language (that makes learning new words in Arabic a little easier!). I am a law student but i will also start stuyding Arabic languages and cultures at university officially from september 1st on. I am learning standard Arabic for a couple of years now. Though the level i have reached is not that high, it makes learning a dialect a lot easier. I want to learn Arabic dialects, for now Egyptian and Moroccan. Both are also taught at university. But the reason why I want to learn Moroccan Arabic is that there is a big community of Moroccans here and I think it will be fun to be able to speak them in Darija. Besides that, I just love to learn Arabic.

Ma3assalamah

Hey Zeynelabidin, and marhaban among our community. I guess it is always a little frightening to arrive in a world, though only virtual, and not knowing anybody. Two or three days ago, I have been told welcome by everybody, and this is very nice.
So, welcome again and good learning!

Mar7ba bik Zeynelabidin! :slight_smile:

Shukran lakuma! :slight_smile:

3alaikom salam.

:welcome: Zeynelabidin. :hap:

Ahlan wa mar7aba Bik

Wa 3alaykom ssalam, Zeyenlabidin. Merhaba ;).
You know what your nickname reminds me of? The Tunisian president :D.
So basically you speak: Turkish, Dutch, English, and MSA? It’s interesting to hear how learning MSA makes it a little bit easier for people to learn dialects. Most people worry about getting confused because of moving from an official language to dialects. At worst, you’ll sound very classy if you use an MSA word, that’s no harm!
Do not hesitate to ask even about Egyptian, I assume I can help with that too :hap:.
As for Darija, get on practicing, and see you in the exercises forum :).

By the way, there is no such thing as dual in Darija. So in this context you should have said: Shukran likom bjôj. :hap: