Salam ,
Ismi Dalton,
je suis irlandais mais j’habite en France, j’adore votre pays et par la suite veut apprendre le darija, je suis très content d’avoir trouvé votre site,
Egalement je suis à la recherche d’une correspondante pour des échanges des langues par skype, 20 mins Darija=20 mins anglais/Gaélique/français.
Si vous etes interessés envoyez moi un mail. Ceci est un message serieux.
Shokran Jiddan

smelehey
my post is a little “over formal”, So here’s more about me, I’ve been to Morroco 3 times already, I am returning shortly for another couple of weeks, I have been learning Classical arab for the last 6 months and trying to learn Darija at the same time, but it’s not easy,
I just learnt the words " Haz el bote" ,I thought it meant “alors on danse” but apperently it’s more “raise your bellybutton”

D

There aren’t many songs with darija lyrics on youtube, it’s a pity, for the moment I’ve found a song lalla fatima with lyrics, ok maybe a bit overdramatic, and the Moroccan national anthem, great tune, it’s funny I find it sounds almost eastern european at times, the lyrics are also hard to place in everyday conversation.

Other wise I have found a good website for vocabulary
Byki.com
It only has MSA for the moment, If anyone wants to make a list??

welcome dalton, ill reply with some links when i have a minute! great to have you here you are welcome

If you find a good place where one can find people who wish to teach darija trough skype, please let me know. I’ve been looking for some time now for someone serious who wishes to help me learn darija on skype. Most people are just “psychos” though, as I have come to learn the hard way :confused:

Wow, I’d like to know that too. Found some other dialects (by accident), but not darija

I can’t help you re. skype (great idea, though),
but if you need a textbook I would highly recommend the Peace Corps’
“Moroccan Arabic” which you can download for free from their site
friendsofmorocco.org