Hello I want to learn Darija

I have been going to Morocco for more than three decades and want to learn more of the language. I am a Secondary English teacher and I travel to Morocco 2-3 times per year.

I have been reading the posts for some time now.

1 Like

welcome!! good luck there is a lot of information here

1 Like

There certainly is! I have two children whose father is Moroccan. My son studied Arabic at University but it was not Darija. I would like to have more meaningful communication with their extended family in Rabat.

1 Like

it is a very good goal…if your sons are interested in learning their language, especially the one who took arabic at school will have an easy time to learn darija with the background that he has. yes it’s very different what he learned in school, but the bases are related. also any french that they might have had would be helpful to them. the best next step is really to just GO, spend time with his family, learn from them about his culture, take some classes while he is there. however if it is not feasible/if it is for now your interest in the language, online forums like this are the next best thing. it really does not compare though.

i give you a lot of credit for coming to find this place and a lot of encouragement in your learning-- with just a little more of this independent spirit of searching out the answers (which brought you here), you can literally teach yourself the language using the archives of this site, and asking questions. i know several members here who have done so.

1 Like

Wish I knew about this site a few years ago before I went to Morocco. I’ve have learned a bit from the month or so I’ve been around. Hope to get a chance to actually use it some day.