"Roumi"

I’m studying Moroccan Arabic in Morocco, and a word I hear often is “Roumi,” as a word referring to foreigners, or for things generally “western,” the opposite of “Bildi” etc. How would you define it? Furthermore, do you know the origin of the word “Roumi?” Does it come from “Roman?” Or from something else?

1 Like

Assalamu alaikum

While I am not Moroccan, I will take a stab at it. Rumi is, as you indicated, a reference to Western influence or interference. Rum is used in the Holy Qur’an and refers to Rome, as a matter of fact it is the name of a Surah, chapter. My suspicion is that they are using the word Rumi to refer to non-Islamic concepts.

Wa Salam

Welcome to the forum, eloiseplz. Please drop a line about yourself in the new members section :).
I never heard in darija the word roumi referring to a person. It only refers to thing. However, in Berber, we do use the word “aroumi” for foreigners. A foreigner is called in Darija: Nsrani, a word from MSA meaning Christian. There is also the word “gawri”.
I think that you are both right, considering the root of the word roumi, it seems to take its origins from “Roman”.
I think the best word to translate roumi is western, or foreigner… just as you stated, eloiseplz.

I didn’t bring up something new, I just confirmed what you stated :).

thanks a lot for your comments. i’ve heard nsrani and gawri too—any idea where gawri comes from? shokrane…

I read somewhere that the word gawri comes from the Turkish word “gavur” that refers to any non Muslim. I am not sure how much is this information relevant. [I hope that some Turkish speaking member will confirm at least the meaning of the word gavur. Zeynelabidin?]

Another version I read is that it comes from the Turkish word “gwer”, which means pig. I am not sure about this though. This would be insulting to non Muslims calling them pigs.

If anyone else has a better/clearer analysis of the etymology of the word gawri, we’ll be glad to learn.