Need help in old Moroccan

Assalamo Aleikom!

I’m a russian writer who is writing a historical book, in wich events are paritally taking place in Morocco in XVII century. =)

I would really appeciate if someone can help me with some words and expressions. Especially that i don’t really know how much Moroccan dialect changed since then. (Alot, i can expect, as it was much before the french occupation). I also don’t think they used to speak mostly Arabic Fousha in Morocco, like in the rest of Arab World, because of it’s geographical situation.

What did they use to call ladies at those times? Was it Fousha word “Saiedaty”, or there is something purely Moroccan? And how were women from low social ranks called?

That’s all for now. =) If someone will be so kind to reply, i might ask more if something will come up during the work. ))

Thank you in advance,

Daria

When Islam was spreading & some Muslims came to Morocco from Arabia, i believe what we speak nowadays is a result of the mix between their Fos7a language & the original berber language, because this Darija we speak exist only in Morocco, Algeria & Tunisia, & that’s where the berbers lived.
Comparing with the Darija of that time & this time, this time’s is a rubbish. for the old one was related to Fos7a, & whenever we mention Fos7a we 're talkin about a rich language. so rich that the poets did not have to sit thinking with a pen & paper, they just talked like a shopkeeper talk to a customer & produced very rich poems.

About how woman is called…i digged for an old topic, read my reply there, & feel free to ask if you need more :slight_smile:
http://speakmoroccan.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1711

Thank you very much, Paperbird :slight_smile: